Governance (members)

Governance structure – councils, committees, concern groups

The Evangelical Lutheran Church of Geneva (ELCG) is an association in accordance with Articles 60 et seg. of the Swiss Civil Code. It is composed of two Lutheran Congregations: The English Speaking Congregation (ESC) and the German Speaking Congregation (GSC) .
The highest authority of the ELCG is the General Assembly (GA). The GA delegates powers to a board of representatives from both Congregations, the Church Council (ChC).
Each Congregation is required to have a Constitution, compliant with the ELCG Constitution.

Church and Congregation Constitutions – history and current situation

The ELCG Constitution dates from March, 1980 (PDF file for download).
The previous ESC Constitution dates from March, 1986 (PDF file for download).

Both constitutions were modified in 2011 to include a requirement by Geneva tax law to maintain our tax-exempt status.

A new constitution for the ESC was worked on over a 2-year period by the Working Group on Governance and was approved at a special General Assembly the 22nd September 2013. The resulting 2013 constitution is available here.

In 2016 an amendment was made to C13.04 — and in 2017 C11.03 was amended to permit the treasurer to serve for up to four consecutive terms. (while other officers serve no more than two consecutive terms). The resulting, amended constitution is available here.

ESC governance

The ESC is governed by a Congregational Assembly (CA), consisting of all voting members. The Constitution mandates the CA to take place annually as determined by bylaws (usually in the month of May).

The Bylaws (formally-adopted by the Congregation Assembly, 6December2015 & revised 29May2016) are available here in PDF format.

Between Assemblies, the CA delegates powers to a board of representatives, the Congregation Council (CC), composed of 12 to 15 members, elected in the spring CA, plus the Pastor(s). Any issues of relevant importance to the ESC are also taken up at this Assembly.

An additional assembly takes place in December in order to approve the budget for the following year. In 2013, we held a further additional Assembly to vote on calling our new Pastor.

Together with the Pastor and the CC, Concern Groups (CG) coordinate and plan events or ministries with the goal of encouraging an active and compassionate Church.

Members of the Congregation Council year by year

2019-2020 Congregation Council
2018-2019 Congregation Council
2017-2018 Congregation Council
2016-2017 Congregation Council
2015-2016 Congregation Council
2014-2015 Congregation Council
2013-2014 Congregation Council (Congregation Council is 2013 new name)
2012-2013 Congregational Committee
2011-2012 Congregational Committee
2010-2011 Congregational Committee
2009-2010 Congregational Committee
2008-2009 Congregational Committee
2007-2008 Congregational Committee
2006-2007 Congregational Committee
2005-2006 Congregational Committee
2004-2005 Congregational Committee
2003-2004 Congregational Committee
2002-2003 Congregational Committee
2001-2002 Congregational Committee